The Records Division processes all Criminal Justice Records created and maintained by the Fremont County Sheriff’s Office. All records released are in accordance with Federal and State statutes and Colorado Criminal Justice Records Act (CCJRA).
Location: Fremont County Sheriff’s Office, 100 Justice Center Rd., Canon City, CO 81212.
Phone: 719-276-5521; 276-5525 Fax: 719-276-5593.
7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. and 1:00 to 4:00 p.m. Monday- Thursday.
7:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Friday
Closed Weekends and Legal Holidays
REQUEST A COPY OF A REPORT:
Reports held by the Fremont County Sheriff’s Office may be obtained from the Records Division. This includes Offense/ Incident case reports, arrest records, jail records, arrest photos and dispatch logs.
To request a copy of a report you may submit a written request using our Sheriff’s Office Records Request Form, or you may use your own form or letter as long as it includes a written statement saying the information will not be used for the solicitation of business for pecuniary gain. You may also print the pecuniary statement and attach it to your request. This signed statement is required prior to any criminal justice records or information being released pursuant to (Colorado Revised Statute 24-72-305.5).
Request forms are also available at our office or you can print the form from this web page. The Sheriff’s Office requires all requests be accompanied with the required fees. Any additional fees must be paid prior to the release of the requested records. Fees may vary depending on the number of pages and type of request.
Request may be submitted:
IN PERSON: If you request your report in person, you will need to come by the Sheriff’s Office during business hours and complete the request for records form. Please wait at least 10 business days from the date of incident before submitting a request. You will have to provide a government issued photo I.D and pay the applicable fees. Please note: your request may not be processed on the day you submit it, but will be completed within 3 business days.
BY FAX: If you submit your request by fax, your request should contain the case number (if known), date of incident, type of incident, location, persons involved. If you do not know all the information, please provide as much information as possible, so we may research whether or not the report/information is available. We will call and advise you if the report is available and the applicable fees. You are then required to submit the request with payment and a copy of your photo I.D. Upon receipt of payment and Photo I.D your request will be processed within 3 business days.
BY MAIL: Please contact our office at (719) 276-5521 or (719) 276-5525 prior to mailing your request, so we can determine the estimated cost of your report. Any request forms received without payment will be returned with an explanation letter. Photo identification is required with all requests. If you request to have your record mailed postage and mailing fees will also be applied.
Fremont County Sheriff's Office
100 Justice Center Road
Cañon City, CO 81212
When will my report be available?
All requests are processed in the order they are received, but may take up to three business days to complete. Such period may be extended if extenuating circumstances exist, such as; the request is unusually long, requires in-depth research, the case is active, or there is an open investigation.
All records are subject to denial based on a case by case review. Juvenile and sex assault records will not be released without proper authorization. Fees are detailed on the fee schedule, unless actual costs exceed that amount, in which case actual cost will be charged. Actual costs include personnel time, research, retrieval and redaction. Most reports fall within the standard fees listed on the records fees schedule. We will notify you of additional charges by the phone number provided.
Who does not have to pay?
- People who are listed in the report as a victim of Domestic Violence, Sexual Offenses, Kidnapping, Assault, First Degree Burglary and Child Abuse are eligible to receive the initial report without charge. Please see [C.R.S 24-4.1-302(1)] to view the list of other applicable crimes. Please note traffic accidents do not have “victims of crime”; therefore, all involved parties must pay to receive a copy of an accident report; with the exception to Careless Driving and Failure to Stop at the scene of an accident resulting in a death of another person.
- Law Enforcement Agencies or Criminal Justice Agencies do not have to pay for backgrounds or reports; but are still required to submit an official request on Department letterhead.
- Military recruiters do not have to pay for backgrounds.
Release of Records:
Please keep in mind information given over the telephone is very limited; discretion is used regarding what information can be provided. If there is a question involving the release of information in a specific situation, Records Section personnel will contact the records supervisor. All reports will be screened for confidential, non-releasable information and may have areas redacted prior to being released.
If you are unsure what type of record you need to request, please refer to the list of Record Description Types.
EVIDENCE AND VEHICLES RETURNS:
Towing and storage fees may apply for impounded vehicles. An appointment with the evidence custodian is required to pick up evidence, impounded vehicles, or property. All property released must have preapproval from the investigating officer, or be authorized by the District Attorney. To schedule an appointment please call 719-276-5526 and leave your name, phone number, case number and brief description of the property you would like to pick up.