You are here

Recording


Searching Public Documents

Colorado Revised Statute 30-10-101 (2.5)(c) does not allow the Clerk’s office to conduct real estate record searches

For copy requests, please use our public search portal and purchase the documents through there.

Documents are available from 1860 to present. There is no charge to search public records online or in the office. Images are not available online until the document is purchased. If researching before 1986, the only indexing available to search by is grantor/grantee and reception number. If researching in 1986 or later, all indexing is available.

If researching for subdivisions, deposited surveys or maps, click on the rectangle that say “maps, plats, or surveys”

The image fee is $5 per page and 75¢ convenience fee per document. When checking out, make sure to input the number of copies under the desired copy. Either copies or certified copies.

If researching all other records, click the rectangle that says “Real Estate Records Search”

The image fee is $0.25 per page and $0.75 convenience fee per document. When checking out, make sure to input the number of copies under the desired copy. Either copies or certified copies.

Certified Copies are NOT electronically transmitted. If a certified copy is requested please, we will process the document in our office and mail it out to you.

The following list is a guide to the more commonly searched documents.

Deeds

Documents that convey real estate.

Deeds of Trust

Documents that encumber real estate. In the State of Colorado, the Public Trustee, a third party, is appointed as regulatory official.

DD214

Documents which state an individual's military record.

Subdivisions

Approved maps showing the legal boundaries of lots, blocks and easements at the time of recording.

Liens

Documents that encumber real estate by businesses or individuals attempting to collect on money due because of services rendered.

Other

Judgments and decrees, federal and state tax liens, releases, public trustee documents, business incorporation and statements of authority and marriage licenses, for example.

Recording of Documents and Fees

For copy requests, please use our public search portal and purchase the documents through there.

Documents can be recorded in the Clerk and Recorder’s office by mail, submission through an e-recording vendor, or over the counter. Documents are recorded in time order as received to the best of our abilities.

For updated fees in 2020 for the Recording Department, download the following fee schedule:

New Recording Fees Effective January 1, 2020

  1. Most Documents- $13.00 1st page and $5.00 for each additional page(s)
  2. Federal Tax Liens- $8.00 1st page $5.00 for each addition page(s)
  3. UCC's are
    $13.00 for one to two pages.
    $18.00 for three or more pages.
    eRecorded UCC's are $8.00 regardless of number of pages.

Recording of Standard Documents

$13.00 for the first page plus $5.00 for each additional page - A page is one side of a document, up to and including an 8½" x 14" sheet.

Note: Motor Vehicle filings, when acting as an agent for Department of Revenue, are exempt from new fees. The exemption does not affect manufactured home recordings in the recording office. Manufactured home recording documents will be subject to the new fees.

Recording of Oversized Documents

$13.00 for the first page plus $10.00 for each additional page - An oversized page is one side of a sheet larger than 8½" x 14".

Federal Tax Liens and any documents related to Federal Tax Liens

$8.00 regardless of number of pages.

State Tax Liens and Release of State Tax Liens (if submitted by the State)

No charge for recording.

Note: Any other documents submitted by the state including transcripts of judgment are not exempt and are subject to the new recording fees.

State Documentary Fee

$0.01 / $100.00
$0.10 /$1000.00
If considered paid is $501.00 or less, no fee is required.

Mining Fee and Mining Claims

$8.00 for the first page plus $5.00 for each additional page. Any document containing the name of a claim requires $0.25 fee per claim mentioned.

U.C.C. Real Estate

$13.00 for one to two pages.
$18.00 for three or more pages.
eRecorded UCC's are $8.00 regardless of number of pages.

Deposited Survey Plats

$20.00 per sheet - the $3.00 surcharge does not apply.

DD214

There are no fees for recording DD214's. Certified copies requested for military benefits are free of charge. Please refer to Release of Military Records for the requirements and forms to allow us to provide copies to you.

Designated Beneficiaries Fee

Designated Beneficiary Agreements & Revocations are $13.00 for the 1st page plus $5.00 for each additional page. 2 certified copies are $2.50. Postage is required if mailing to second party.

e-Recording Documents

Fremont County encourages everyone to e-record documents. When documents are e-recorded; the convenience, speed, and security is worth it. Online recording will offset the time, cost of paper submittals, reduces the cost of courier or postage costs, reduces rejections due to incorrect fees, increases security, and faster turn-around time.

Fremont County currently uses the following vendors to e-record documents:

Photocopy Fees

Effective 1/1/2020 as established by the Fremont County Clerk and Recorder. The Office of the Clerk and Recorder for Fremont County is authorized to charge the following fees for photocopies of public records or other documents maintained in its custody:

  1. Standard page (legal or letter) photo or electronic copy of records in the custody of the Clerk and Recorder 25¢ per page.
  2. Oversized documents (not letter or legal size), such as maps, plats and other similar documents: $5.00 per page.
  3. Public records that are physically maintained and required to retrieve from archives: $2.25 per page.
  4. Public records research charge for photocopy requests requiring staff research to locate documents or convert a document into a format required for document retrieval: $30.00 per hour (in addition to the photocopy charge).
  5. Public records retrieval charge for photocopy requests requiring more than one hour of time for document retrieval within a one-week period: $30.00 per hour, after the first hour, per hour (in addition to the photocopy charge).

NOTE: Fremont County does not accept out of county or state personal checks. Please send a bank check, business check or money order.

Release of Military Records

The National Archives and Records Administration has outlined certain requirements for dissemination of military records, such as the DD214 form, which this office has elected to adopt.

A DD214 request form must be filled out by any individual requesting a copy from this office.

All requests for copies of DD214s must now be accompanied by a written request form and a picture I.D. Copies will only be distributed to the veteran listed or to his or her next of kin.

Lawyers, doctors, historians, etc. may request copies of a DD214 with signed authorization from the veteran or next of kin.