You are here

Records and Other Services


General Information

The Records Division is responsible for the retention and release of Criminal Justice records information to the public and other law enforcement agencies. The Records Division only releases records maintained by the Fremont County Sheriff’s Office and Detention Center. All records are released in accordance with Federal and State statutes, Colorado Criminal Justice Records Act (CCJRA) and Colorado Open Records Act (CORA) if applicable.

Business Hours:
Monday –Thursday                 Friday
7:30 am to 12:30 pm              7:30 am to 1:00 pm
1:00 pm to 4:00 pm

We are closed weekends and most federal holidays.

When Will My Report Be Available?

Please wait at least 10 business days from the date of incident to allow sufficient time for (submission, review, corrections and approval) before submitting a records request.

Records are not released immediately upon request and will be processed in a “reasonable time” within 3 to 7 business days.  All requests are processed in the order they are received, such period may be extended based upon several factors, such as; in-depth or large request, broadly stated request, or the case is an active and on-going investigation.  You will be notified if extenuating circumstances exist.

  • Juvenile, sex assault, and other major case crimes will not be released without proper authorization and/or completion of the investigation or judicial proceeding in Colorado Court.

How to Request a Copy of a Report

To request a copy of a report you must submit a written request by:

  • Downloading our Sheriff’s Office Records Request Form
  • OR
  • Submitting your own letter with the Pecuniary Statement which must be signed pursuant to (C.R.S. 24-72-305.5).

With either option, please include a copy of government issued photo identification.

*Notice: Law Enforcement Agencies and Criminal Justice Agencies do not have to pay for backgrounds or reports; but are still required to submit an official request on Department letterhead (please include agency ORI # on your request).

*NOTICE: Requests received outside of normal business hours, or any day the office is officially closed will be considered received the following business day (i.e.; email received 4:05 p.m. on Monday will be considered received Tuesday, a letter received Friday at 1:00 p.m. will be considered received on Monday).

RELEASE OF INFORMATION:
Please keep in mind information given over the telephone is very limited; discretion is used regarding what information can be provided.  All reports will be screened for confidential, non-releasable information and may have areas redacted prior to being released.

The release of records and information will be determined in accordance with the Colorado Criminal Justice Records Act (CCJRA). Identifying information on Juveniles, Sex Assault incidents and victims, and other confidential information will be redacted.

*If you are unsure what type of record to request, please refer to Records Description. 

Fees

MOST records fall within the categories listed on the fee schedule. Some requests may exceed the fee or may be less than the fee fee based on actual cost/time or type of record requested.

If a request requires broad/in-depth research, multiple records, or other records not specifically addressed by this schedule, fees may be billed at a rate of $7.50 per 15-minute increments up to $30.00 per hour, plus $.25 per page copied (Process time includes the retrieval, redaction and copying of the requested record).

Fees must be paid in full before the records will be released, unless alternative arrangements have been made through the Records Custodian.

Forms of payment accepted:

  • Cash, money orders, cashier checks
  • Attorney checks from an operating account
  • Business Check (I.e. insurance companies)
  • ONLY local Fremont County personal checks with a Fremont County printed address

*NO out of county personal checks, credit or debit cards are accepted.
Make checks or money orders payable to “Fremont County Sheriff’s Office.”
Please mail the signed and completed form, with the enclosed fee to: 

Fremont County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Records
100 Justice Center Road
Canon City, CO 81212

 Please contact the Records Section at 719-276-5521 or 719-276-5525 if you have any questions.

Evidence and Vehicle Returns

An appointment with the evidence custodian is required to pick up evidence, property, or impounded vehicles (towing and storage fees may apply for impounded vehicles).  All property released must have preapproval from the investigating officer, or be authorized by the District Attorney. To schedule an appointment please call 719-276-5585 and leave your name, phone number, case number and brief description of the property you would like to pick up.

Vin Inspection

VIN INSPECTIONS MUST BE PREPAID BEFORE AN INSPECTION WILL BE DONE. Payments can be made at the Fremont County Sheriff’s Office, Administration Division during normal business hours.

FEE: $20.00 (per vehicle or trailer)

Non-Certified VIN (form DR 2698): can be performed by any Deputy on duty by verifying that the information on your valid title or registration matches the Vehicle Identification Number on your vehicle. These do not require a special appointment and are performed during the following hours:

Inspection Hours: Monday, Wednesday and Thursday 8:00 AM to Noon and 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM

Fingerprinting Services

Effective November 1, 2018

The Fremont County Sheriff’s Office can only fingerprint for the following:

  • Concealed Handgun Applicants
  • Any Federal Class 3 or FFL
  • Out of state submissions

This change follows a new program implemented by the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI).

Fingerprinting Hours

Monday thru Thursday

7:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Fees and accepted forms of payment:

  • The fee is $10.00 for 1 card or $15.00 for 2 cards for each set (per person).
  • Forms of Payment Accepted: Cash, money orders, cashier's check Fremont County local check with printed address (Currently, we do NOT accept credit and debit cards).

A Valid Government Issued Driver License or State Identification Photo ID is required (we must confirm the identity of the person being fingerprinted).

For all other fingerprinting information please visit https://colorado.gov/cbi or call toll free at (844)539-5539.

Court Order Fingerprints

You must bring the required court documents and a Photo Id (we must confirm the person being fingerprinted) before fingerprints will be done. Forms of identification accepted include: a Colorado driver’s license, state identification cards, passports or military identification cards.

Court Order Fingerprinting Hours: Monday-Thursday; 8:00 am to 11:00 am

Sex Offenders Registry

The Fremont County Sheriff's Office registers convicted sexual offenders who reside in unincorporated Fremont Count (outside city or town limits), in accordance with state law. Sexual offenders are required to register quarterly, or annually, depending on the nature of the conviction. A list of sexual offenders who are registered with the Sheriff's Office can be obtained by going to the Sheriff's Office, Records Division and making a records request. The list changes on a daily basis, as new offenders register and registered offenders move out of the area.

Colorado Revised Statute 16-22-108(7) allows for fees to be charged for Registration of Sex Offenders.

Fees are as follows:
$75.00 Initial Registration Fee
$25.00 Annual Registration
$25.00 Quarterly Registration
No Fee- Updates or De-Registration 

SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION IS MONDAY-FRIDAY FROM 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. You have 5 business days to register, once you become a resident.

Pursuant to 16-22-112, Colorado Revised Statutes, law enforcement agencies are authorized to release information about registered sex offenders living within the agency's jurisdiction to residents of the jurisdiction. Sex offender registry information is made available to citizens, so they may better protect themselves and their children from known sex offenders.

The general assembly declares, however, that in making this information available to the public as provided in this section and section 16-22-110(6), it is not the general assembly’s intent that the information be used to inflict retribution or additional punishment on any person convicted of unlawful sexual behavior or of another offense, the underlying factual basis of which involves unlawful sexual behavior.

You may obtain a copy of the list from the Fremont County Sheriff’s Office. ($3.00 fee)

The Colorado sex offender registry includes only those persons who have been required by law to register and who are in compliance with the sex offender registration laws. Persons should not rely solely on the sex offender registry as a safeguard against perpetrators of sexual assault in their communities. The crime for which a person is convicted may not accurately reflect the level of risk.

If you want to obtain a list of sexually violent predators in Colorado, you can contact the Colorado Bureau of Investigations.